Winter Solstice 2017: Facts You Should Know About The Shortest Day in the Year

1219

Winter Solstice is here bringing us the shortest day of 2017 for those who live north of the equator. Follow Nexter to know why this day is special and how people celebrate it.

What is Winter Solstice?

The winter solstice for 2017 will occur at 11:28 am ET on Thursday, Dec. 21. On Dec. 21 the annual astronomical phenomenon will mark the shortest day of the year and the start of the winter period as well. After that the nights will begin to get shorter as our planet rotates towards the sun until the summer solstice in June. Since the winter solstice the days will start getting longer again and you can start looking forward to Spring.

Here is the timetable when you can observe the winter solstice in 2017:

Thursday, December 21, 2017 at 4:28 pm UTC
Thursday, December 21, 2017 at 11:28 am EST
Thursday, December 21, 2017 at 10:28 am CST
Thursday, December 21, 2017 at 9:28 am MST
Thursday, December 21, 2017 at 8:28 am PST
Thursday, December 21, 2017 at 7:28 am AKST
Thursday, December 21, 2017 at 6:28 am HAST

Celebrating Traditions

Actually there is no worldwide rituals for celebrating these days officially. But in the past our pagan ancestors honored the solstice. Bet you didn’t know that many of the traditions now associated with Christmas had their roots in winter solstice celebrations – including the Christmas tree.

Still, in that days typically thousands of tourists and pagans visit Stonehenge in UK, the ancient British stone ruin that was built in alignment with the sun’s movement.

winter-solstice-2017-stonehenge-photo

People will also trek to the Newgrange monument in Ireland, built around 3200 BCE. During the winter solstice, sunlight should shine into a special chamber at sunrise.

See also:

Like this post? Let us know!
  • CoolAF (0%)
  • Cool (0%)
  • Whatever (0%)
  • Boring (0%)
  • WTF (0%)
Summary
Winter Solstice 2017: Facts You Should Know About The Shortest Day in the Year
Title
Winter Solstice 2017: Facts You Should Know About The Shortest Day in the Year
Description
Winter Solstice is here bringing us the shortest day of 2017 for those who live north of the equator. Follow Nexter to know why this day is special and how people celebrate it.
Nexter.org
Nexter.org
nexter.org
https://nexter.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/logo_nexterbg.jpg
No tags for this post.

More News from Nexter