All You Need to Know About Gelatin Capsules

165

Gelatin capsules have been the preference for the transfer of medication for decades. They are capsules that are used as an oral dosage to supply vitamins, minerals, and other medical drugs. Their packaging has allowed the medical industry to supply people with the proper dosage of medication. The gelatin capsule is also portable and has a higher consumer demand.

gelatine_capsules_pic

These capsules help consumers comply more when it comes to taking their medication. The reason behind this is because capsules are small in size, less chalky, and easily slide down the throat. They are able to disguise the bitter taste of liquid medication and other tablets.

The Benefits of Gelatin Capsules

Gelatin capsules allow life-saving drugs, vitamins, minerals, and other supplements to be transported and stored safely. This is because gelatin capsules are made of pure protein, are gluten-free, tasteless, and offer a better alternative to oral dosage for medication, making it easier for the patient to consume it.

They can easily be customized according to how the producer wishes, such as changing the color, shape, and size. Gelatin can also change how fast the medication or supplement releases into one’s body. Some gelatin capsules are identified as enteric (slow) releasing, and others are known as fast releasing. This allows producers to create medication that can help people be accommodating in different ways.

Gelatin capsules are produced as halal and kosher as well. Compared to other materials used for capsules, gelatin is considered the most cost-efficient. The hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) capsules have four times more production cost than gelatin capsules. The cost of production thus has an impact on how much is charged for the medication.

Gelatin also has a higher level of machinability, and this means that it is capable of tolerating the mechanical process. This is why no extra ingredients or different machines need to be used. Compared to this, HPMC has lower machinability since first-generation HPMC need gelling agents, while second-generation HPMC does not need gelling agents, but they need a different machine for production.

Capsules need to be strong in order to go through mechanical stress during production. Thus, if the substance used for the capsules is weak, then many more defects can be formed, which is why when we compare gelatin to HPMC, gelatin is considered more resistant.

Active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) are complex substances, and this is why they become sensitive to oxidation. In the case of oxidation, capsules are also considered the best option since they give medication the best protection. This is because gelatin capsules have low permeability, making them less oxygen sensitive. 

The Two Different Types of Gelatin Capsules

Soft capsules: these capsules are also known as soft gels and are made in one action. Usually, the manufacturing process of soft capsules is complex, but the process of making them allows manufacturers to produce different types of capsules that have liquid or semi-liquid in them and come in different shapes or sizes.

Hard capsules: these types of capsules are a cylindrical shell that is rigid and are made of two parts which are the body and the cap. These two parts are filled with dry or sometimes liquid ingredients, which are then specially sealed, so leakages don’t occur. Hard capsules are one of the oldest forms of pharmaceutical capsules.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Is the Most Common Type of Gelatin Used in Capsules?

The most common types of gelatin used in a gelatin capsule are the bovine or porcine source.

What Are the Differences Between Capsules, Tablets, and Pills?

Tablets are compressed powders that are mostly used as medical drugs to cure diseases, while gelatin capsules are a different and more convenient way to deliver medical drugs, vitamins, as well as minerals. Since capsules have a lower friction property, they are much easier to swallow, thus preferred by most consumers.

Can Gelatin Capsules Cause Allergies?

Gelatin capsules usually do not cause any allergies unless they contain something that the consumer is allergic to, but the capsule on its own does not cause allergies. Gelatin is created from natural collagen that is found in connective tissue. Gelatin is also a pure protein that is easily digestible and does not have any side effects

Do People Prefer Soft Capsules More?

Soft gels offer a much better value for both consumers and producers. This is because of its main component, which is gelatin.

What Happens Once Gelatin Capsules Enter the Body?

Gelatin is defined as a colorless dry powder that is stiff and has been used for centuries in food and pharmaceutical. When consumed, gelatin ends up getting dissolved in the human body due to the normal body temperature, which makes it the most suitable ingredient in soft gels. 

Is There A Specific Size That Every Gelatin Capsule Must Have?

There is no specific size for gelatin capsules since the size depends on the medication and dosage required. Gelatin also has a lot of flexibility which allows the capsules to be created in many different shapes and sizes.

Is it Safe to Consume Gelatin Capsules?

Gelatin that is used in the production of capsules is safe as it goes beyond the required regulation for use within the health and nutrition industry. Well-known gelatin capsule providers are given strict quality requirements that need to meet both local and international regulations.

In addition to following rules and regulations, gelatin companies go through many physical, chemical, and microbiological testing before the gelatin is used to produce capsules.

Is it Possible to Make Capsules Without Gelatin?

Capsules can be produced from substances other than gelatin or other forms of gelling agents. However, gelatin has been used for centuries now as a form of oral dosage and is accepted by consumers all around the world.

But in the past few decades, there have been newer plant-based gelling capsules that can be made from starches, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), pullulan etc. They were mostly created to meet the requirements for vegan and vegetarians.

Conclusion

Gelatin capsules have been around for decades, and they have provided consumers with a cheaper alternative to getting their medication dosage. Their low-cost production has allowed people of all backgrounds to gain an advantage of the health care system without having to lose all their savings.

Like this post? Let us know!
  • CoolAF (0%)
  • Cool (0%)
  • Whatever (0%)
  • Boring (0%)
  • WTF (0%)
Summary
Title
All You Need to Know About Gelatin Capsules
Description
Gelatin capsules have been around for decades, and they have provided consumers with a cheaper alternative to getting their medication dosage.
No tags for this post.

More News from Nexter